Stay-A Story.

“Shanaya Bhandhari?” Called out the peon,Everyone were in the middle of their computer practices and the teacher wasn’t there in the class at that time.

Shanaya,looked up took her eyes off the computer screen and said “Yes,That’s me.”

The peon told her to come out,Shanaya had a puzzled look on her face and she looked up to her friend Hemani,who was sitting on the computer next to her,they both shrugged and shanaya walked her way to the exit.

As she opened the door and went outside the lab,she saw him.

She did not expect him to be here,at this time when he had to leave for Pune in a few hours.

She felt as if the ground beneath her feet was shaked,she was sweating and felt so numb.

Varun was standing,outside the practicle lab,He had worn a black shirt and dark jeans,he had his bag on his shoulders and a red plastic bag in his hands,was like a casual college going guy,but was not so smart in looks.

Shocked.

Shanaya did not know at first how to react.Her legs were shaking and she was laughing a stupid laughter out of nervousness.

Varun waved his hand and then said”Its so hot in mumbai.”

Shanaya nodded and shaked her head,pretty confused on what to do next.

She somehow couldn’t stop laughing,because of her nervousness.

But gathered courage,and spoke,”Why did you come here?At this time?”

“I just wanted to give this to you”he said,pointing out to the red plasctic bag in his hand,In a low voice.

“I already told you,I won’t take it,don’t you have to leave for Pune in the evening?”Shanaya said very politely but a little firmness.

Varun had made two sketches of her and he had framed them,and wanted to give them to her,But Shanaya had told him many times that she won’t take it.

She tried to keep her self so calm,but she was shaken from inside.

Varun and Shanaya had met on a social networking site,but their friendship had grown deeper,and varuns love for Shanaya had grown more.

It was the first time they had met,but it wasn’t the right place and time and his way of meeting in the middle of her college made it worse.

Even though Shanaya had made it clear that she won’t be in a relationship with anyone.Varun had always treated her like his girlfriend.

But today,His coming to her college,In the middle of her Practicles made her think,He was so creepy,It would have been cute if he waited outside the college for her,It would have been so sweet if he brought flowers for her,It would have been so good,If The first word he said was,”You look more prettier in reality.” Rather than “It’s so hot,I’m sweating.”

But,Nothing as such did he do or could she expect from him.

“In the middle of the Practicles,why did you come at this time i told you i wont take it,You should go.”She said,her voice now firm.

“I have a train to Pune at 6 pm,It’s 2:45,I’ll wait for you,outside.”Varun said whike he cleant sweat off his face.

“I have to go,My teacher would be here any moment.”She said in a low voice and started making her way to her lab.

Varun just nodded and said he would wait and he went downstairs.

Shanaya’s face was shocked when she entered the class,no one but her friend noticed it and asked her what was wrong.

Shanaya,told hemani everything,even though hemani was friends with her from only since 2 weeks when college had started.

“Such a creep.He just crossed the line from being cute to creepy.” Hemani said

But Shanaya was shocked and shaken,and was sweating in an air conditioned room.

By the time her Practicles got over,it was 4:30,Shanaya had a message from Varun saying “Meet me at The CafΓ¨,which is next to your college.”

Shanaya went to The Cafè,and saw him sitting in one of the last corner seats,usually for couples.

Shanaya did not like the idea of love and Varun was very different from her,he did things what his heart said and Shanaya did not.She was a realistic person or maybe she did not want to see herself crying after a guy had left her.

As Shanaya walked up to him,Varun saw her and said “Sit”

“I have to catch a bus or else i would reach home very late,I need to go,you should leave too,You are getting late to right?”She replied waving her hand into a No.

“Okay,I just wanted to give you these sketches.”Varun said,His voice so low hard enough to hear.

“I’m so mad and angry at you,why Varun? I told you i wont take it,See we meet even though I did not want to,Please don’t expect me to take these,I don’t have anything so special in return.” There was no anger,no frustration,but softness in her voice.

She noticed that Varun had his book of sketches in his hand as well that he wanted to show Shanaya,But Shanaya did not like the way he treated her today.

She had always imagined someone to pull out a chair for her and offer her to sit,she wanted someone who made her feel nice,And she couldnt find these things in Varun.

Varun didn’t say anything,he just got up,and walked to the entrance of the CafΓ¨ and Shanaya followed.

He looked up at Shanaya and did not say anything.

Shanaya just told him,she had to go,and Varun without saying anuthing nodded and left.

As she walked to the bus stop with Hemani,everything that happened with her today was coming in her mind.

She wondered if he was really this guy,who knew everything about her,whom she talked to all night.If he was really this guy,with whom she was herself.But,he did not make her comfortable,He did not make her feel Speacial,he did not spoke to her polietly and worse of all,He did not as her to STAY,Instead he left.

As they walked to the bus stop,Hemani broke the silence and said “You could do better than this guy you met.”

“I don’t know,He didn’t ask me to stay,or make me feel how I wanted a boy to,So maybe I do.”Shanaya replied.

But her heart so badly wanted that he would stop her,Instead she got a message from him the next day which said,” There is nothing like love,It does not exsist in this world,When you do anythng for your love its Worthless,I promise to never think of you ever,Take care.”

He shut the door to their friendship,and Shanaya did not reply anything to it,A part of her knew he would give up,The only thing she thought after reading his message was,”But,Maybe baby,everything done with love and for love is not Worthless.”

71 thoughts on “Stay-A Story.

  1. Well done, good to see you back to writing. I feel like in current society, when meeting someone on Internet is becoming common, it is good to have expectations but we should also be ready for the situation where those expectations are not met and understand that something different from our expectation might not always be bad. Anyways that is my take on it but I have never been in a relationship so cannot relate to it. It is wonderful to see people write a detailed narrative of a situation, which is something I always find hard to do hahah. Very well put and keep writing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • I totally agree with what you’ve said,I was trying to write a story since the start of this month but it felt so hard until yesterday,when I finally got something to write and it would be hard for you to believe but I wrote this in less than an hour.And I feel happy about my story.
      You are so amazing,you read all my blogs and never forget to leave a encouraging comment,I feel so happy.
      Thankyou so much. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s not hard for me to believe because that is exactly what happens when I write. I could be thinking on a topic for days without actually getting the wording to write it and then that one moment where that wording comes together, I am able to finish writing in couple minutes haha. Last time that moment happened 2:30 in the morning when i was half asleep and I finished writing it that moment within couple minutes.

        Liked by 1 person

      • As far as encouragement goes, that I am well known for amongst my friends toh tumhe aadat pad hi jayegi. Mujhe lagta hai, is Duniya main neecha dikhane ke liye har koi Tayar hai and i believe anything that is worth the praise should be praised and i am always the first one there. I am always ready to take criticism and give when needed because I think if I cannot take a criticism then I am not ready to grow as an individual. So don’t thank me for the encouragement, I am just fulfilling a duty of a good friend πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

  2. It’s a very typical girl’s part of story or from her point of view. Sometimes virtual world and real world are at two extremes. We cannot expect someone same as it is in the virtual world. So never make your expectations..
    Guys never think of any surprise to a girl but they do wonders πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. drish ; (…… I don’t know what to say …..I cried after reading this story…….I don’t know whether you wrote this story inspiring from someone or just casually. ……but it’s no doubt that this story is exactly what once happened with me when i was suppose to go Jaipur and one last evening before that I met her aftr a long arguing fight; and the same moment happened with me……I didn’t stoped her, didn’t expressed my feeling with her, there was a whole lot of silence in 46mins of time(what I still remember today), just facing each other and thiking who will confess first. and when none of us said anything I stood up and tried to give her my dairy which I wrote for her but she denied and in this fuse without looking back to her I went away. I know it waz the most stupidest act I ever did in my life,, still remember I waz shedding tears from my eyes when I waz returning home. I wished to hug her, kiss her,want to look into her eyes and try to see myself in it, want to njy that moment for one last time till the nxt 3yrs. but ol I did waz rudely walk away from her. and when I got back into her contact aftr 8mnths the only one thing I did on phne was to cry hard and ask for forgiveness, and she did the same. drish’love you for updating such kind of blogs and make someone laugh on their stupidest act which they did once”……thank you dear one ^_^……keep posting such’!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really like the originality in it. Its not the typical girl meets boy and she gets totally swept off her feet scenario , which why I think it’s great . Also you have succeeded in showing the reader both the determined face of her where she chooses not to set the bar low as well as the her vulnerable side where her emotions which makes her want to stop him and say stay .
    On the whole .. I loved it πŸ™‚
    P.S. I wanted comment as soon as I read it sorry I couldn’t 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  5. hmmm, romantic school girl meets a worldly wise boy πŸ™‚
    Actually, most guys / men dont realise and understand what a girl wants. It is not that, what they feel is not love, but somehow, lots of things cannot be explained, and in most relationships, expectations are different πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Lost-A story. | simple head girl

  7. I am happy you have brought this topic forward…the social media blocks our emotions and only what is in our head comes out…so we don’t exactly get to know the 100% self of a person…honestly I enjoyed this read….have read ur other short story too..and somehow I totally ship varun and shanaya together, but only if they had not met over the social networking world☺ So waiting for another version of this story☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

